Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Wake Up!

When are we going to wake up America? Open your eyes as wide as they will go. Clear you ears and take a look around. What do you see? The same wonderful country that you woke up to last month, last year and yesterday.

If you listen to the politicians in Washington you'll hear different. If you read your paper (if you still get one) or watch TV, the big news is that we are in a financial crisis. Congress is staying late and eating in because they are working so hard to get us out of this mess. Are they tyring to cut spending to free up money to make these loans? No. Are they trying to cut the amount needed so we don't risk as much? No. What they really are doing is trying to come up with the best sales plan to convince the regular person that we need to do this.

Bill Clinton was stumping for Obama and stated himself that Congress didn't "sell" the plan good enough. What is there to sell? If Slick Willie needs to be out trying to convince us that this is good, I'm even more reluctant. Anything that can't stand on it's own merrits shouldn't go forward. I think we're all smart enough to understand what happened and what is going on. I don't need to be "sold" on anything. Is that what our elections are all about? Trying to sell people on things that they can't see with their own two eyes?

Why are most Americans against this bill? The main reason is that we don't feel the money pinch yet. The investors are losing big time. When the rich lose money, the little guy feels a little better. He feels like their is justice in this world. He feels like somebody got what they deserve. Also, the little guy feels important. He feels like someone is actually listening to him.

But why doesn't the President just make an executive order? Why doesn't Congress just pass a bill without regard to what the people want, after all, they do this everyday? It's because this still might not work. It's because they want us all to be in agreement because nobody knows if this is going to work. It's so no one can get a finger pointed at them when things go wrong.

Wake up America. See what is going on. Ask questions. Pay attention. Understand that the people who run the business of America don't have a clue. If they did, we wouldn't be here. Our leaders are afraid of making the wrong decision. They are so worried that what they do will lose the election next month. That's not leadership, that's our political two party system. That's poll watching. That's a con, a scheme, bait and switch. Wake up America, or you will have something in the driveway that you can't afford and don't want.